PDP crisis escalates …as 57 Reps dump Tukur for Baraje (see List)

The festering crises in the ruling Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, escalated yesterday as 57 members of the House of Representatives elected on its platform pitched their tent with the breakaway faction headed by Alhaji Abubakar Baraje.

Twenty six PDP senators had, on Monday, joined the Baraje camp.

The lawmakers, in a statement signed by all of them in Abuja, expressed their support for the former Vice President Alhaji Atiku Abubakar and congratulated him and other state governors for the emergence of the new party, known as New PDP.

They also warned the government not to use state apparatus to hound dissident members of the PDP.
“We, the members of the House of Representatives under the platform of the New PDP, hereby congratulate our leaders on the emergence of the new party

“Although a sizeable number of our members who could not append their signatures because of their unavailability in the country will do so immediately on arrival, we the under signed salute and appreciate the courage, sacrifice and resilience and patriotism of our leaders,” the statement reads.

The lawmakers also said: “We are also using this opportunity to condemn in strong terms attempts by some agents of the Federal Government to use state apparatus to witch-hunt some of these patriots for taking this bold and courageous step.
“As members of the House of Representatives, we call on the security agencies and other anti-graft bodies to be professional in their activities and not allow themselves be used by anybody no matter how highly placed for their political ambitions.
“We won’t hesitate however to use all instruments of law within our powers as provided by the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended), to stop this and bring anybody found wanting to book.

The lawmakers include Abdulahi Balarabe (Sokoto), Abudulmumin Jibrin (Kano), Ali Ahmad (PDP, Kwara), Abudulahi Wamako (Sokoto), Abdulahi Rico (Niger), Abdulmalik Cheche (Niger), Adamu Bashir (Jigawa), Aliyu Pategi (Kwara), Ahmed Zerewa, Aishatu Ahmed (Adamawa), Aiyedun Olayinka (Kwara), Alhassan Garba (Kano), Aliyu Madaki (Kano), Aliyu Shehu (Sokoto) and Aminu Shagari (Sokoto).

Others include Aminu Suleiman (Kano), Aminu Tukur (Adamawa), Andrew Uchendu (Rivers), Asita Honourable (Rivers), Bashir Babale (Kano), Blessing Usiegbe (Rivers), Dakuku Peterside (Rivers), Dawari George (Rivers), Farouk Lawan (Kano), Gibson Nathaniel (Adamawa), Gogo Bright Tamuno (Rivers), Haliru Jikantoro (Niger), Hassan Adamu (Jigawa), Hussain Namadi (Kogi), Ibrahim Ebbo (Niger), Ibrahim Tijjani Kiyaw (Jigawa), Isa Bashir (Sokoto), Kabiru Achida (Sokoto), Khabeeb Mustapha (Jigawa) and Maurice Pronen (Rivers).

Also in the group are Sabo Mohammed (Jigawa), Mpigi Barinada (Rivers), Mohammed Mukhtar (Niger), Mohammed Ibrahim (Kogi), Mohammed Kutigi (Niger), Mukhtari Muhammad, Musa Ado (Kano), Musa Sarkin-Adar (Sokoto), Mustapha Dawaki (Kano), Mustapha Mashood (Kwara), Ogbonna Nwuke (Rivers), Rafiu Ibrahim (Kwara), Sa’ad Nabunkari (Sokoto), Sani Aliyu (Kano), Shuaibu Gobir (Sokoto), Sokonte Davies (Rivers), Sufiyanu Ubale (Jigawa), Umar Bature (Sokoto), Usman Wada (Jigawa), Yusuph Dunari Sule (Jigawa), Yusuph Galambi (Jigawa) and Zakari Mohammed (Kwara).

National mirror
Share on Google Plus
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment


Post a Comment