Tambuwal part of new PDP –House spokesman

The 57 members of the House of Representatives belonging to the Abubakar Kawu Baraje-led leadership of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, said yesterday that Speaker Aminu Waziri Tambuwal is in their group.

Fifty-seven out of the 205 PDP members in the House had on Tuesday declared support for the faction as they warned anti-graft agencies against harassment and intimidation.
Tambuwal and other principal officers are currently attending the Pan African Parliament, PAP, conference in South Africa.
Though the speaker’s name was not listed among those who signed for the “New PDP,” the Chairman of the House Committee on Media and Public Affairs, Zakari Mohammed, said: “Tambuwal is a man of the majority and therefore naturally belongs to the new PDP, which is progressive and responsive.”

Mohammed, who disclosed this in a telephone interview, explained that Tambuwal is a grassroots leader and could not abandon his people and governor who were part of the “revolution” in the party.

He said: “Although I cannot speak for the honourable speaker, I can confirm that he is the people’s speaker; he is the speaker for all and so would naturally flow with the majority. Besides, he cannot abandon his governor in the struggle. He is from Sokoto State and the Governor, Aliyu Wamakko is a prime mover of this PDP, so he cannot be missing in action. But it is left for you to read the writing on the wall.”

The House spokesman said they were firmly behind their governors in their struggle to redeem PDP, as he stressed that those of them in the “New PDP” were dissatisfied with the way the party was being run by Alhaji Bamanga Tukur and President Goodluck Jonathan.
He said: “I can tell you, most of us are disenchanted with what has been going on in the party and have now decided that enough is enough.

“We have to support our leaders and governors to reposition our great party and those who are with us are the majority. Anybody who is on the other side should better have a rethink.”
Mohammed maintained that most of the lawmakers were still on vacation and could not be reached physically to append their signatures but they had confirmed their membership of the Baraje- led PDP.

In the statement earlier issued on Tuesday, the 57 lawmakers said: “We wish to state that, by this statement, we pledge our loyalty and support to the New PDP under the able chairmanship of Alhaji Abubakar Kawu Baraje, the Deputy Chairman, Dr. Sam SamJaja, National Secretary, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinola and other members of the National Executive Committee.”

National Mirror
Share on Google Plus
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment


Post a Comment