APC to Saraki and Dogara: you will face disciplinary action

Alhaji Lai Mohammed
The All Progressives Congress (APC) has said Senate President Bukola Saraki and the House of Representatives Speaker Yakubu Dogara will face disciplinary action for disobeying party leadership.
Speaking to journalists after a meeting with the leadership of the party and some senators loyal to the party’s anointed candidate Senator Ahmed Lawan in Abuja yesterday, National Publicity Secretary of APC, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, said the party will apply the necessary sanctions which will follow a due process.
The party had in an earlier statement rejected the process of emergence of Saraki and Dogara describing it as unacceptable and treacherous.
The duo emerged to preclude the party’s candidates Lawal Femi Gbajabiamila for the positions of senate president and House speaker.
They were elected by the APC lawmakers through a straw vote conducted by the party earlier.
He said that the senators came to confer with the party leadership over some important issues affecting the party “that’s all I’m allowed to say. They are our senators that will like to confer with the party leadership, they came to confer on the crisis in the National Assembly.” 
On the earlier position taken by the party on the emergence of Saraki and Dogara, the APC spokesperson said the party still maintains its earlier position and will take the necessary action.
“The party has not changed its position on the matter. The sanctions must follow due process,” he said.
On the decision of Lawal and his group to go to court, he said the party has not taken any decision or aware of the move by the senators after the election.
“I think the party made its expression clear on the matter that it is unhappy with the outcome of the election and I think we won’t say anything beyond that. What the senators will do is within the capability and rights of the senators. I’m not aware they have gone to court,” he said.
Senators who attended the meeting included Kabir Gaya, George Akume, Ajayi Borrofice, Ahmed Lawan, Baraje Jibril and Abdullahi Adamu.
The senators declined to speak with journalists after the meeting. 
Party leaders present at the meeting included the APC National Chairman John Odigie-Oyegun, National Vice Chairman North West, Barrister Inuwa Abdulkadir, National Welfare Secretary Dikko Umaru Radda, National Publicity Secretary, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, Deputy National Chairman South, Chief Segun Oni, among others.

Share on Google Plus
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment


Post a Comment