SGF: Gov Okorocha submits three names to Buhari

Governor Rochas Okorocha
With the storm over the National Assembly leadership yet to settle, Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo State has submitted three names to President Muhammadu Buhari for consideration as Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF).
Daily Trust learnt yesterday that Okorocha backed his demand with the argument that appointments into key positions in the new government should be on the basis of the four political parties that formed the All Progressives Congress (APC).
He had argued that while the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP), the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) have been recognised for various positions, the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) has not been given any.
A source close to the governor told our correspondent that “If you look at the sharing of key posts, you would see that APGA that he took to join them in the APC has not been rewarded.” 
The source said the governor has resolved not to allow APGA go empty handed and has therefore made his position known to President Buhari while submitting the three names.
He said the names of Senator Chris Ngige, Ogbonnaya Onu and Anthony Anwuka have been sent to the president to approve whoever he deems fit to occupy the office from among them.
Another source said since President Muhammadu Buhari is of the CPC, Prof Yemi Osinbajo his vice is of the ACN, John Odigie Oyegun was a chieftain of ANPP, Bukola Saraki of the new PDP is contesting the Senate presidency with Ahmad  Lawan of the ANPP while Femi Gbajabiamila is also from the ACN bloc while Yakubu Dogara belongs to the ANPP, Governor Okorocha is right to demand the position for APGA.
A reliable source at Government House Owerri said however that though Okorocha has submitted a list, he will face stiff opposition from the Rotimi Amaechi camp.

Daily trust 
Share on Google Plus
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment


Post a Comment